AI Advancement Award

Promote and support technological advancement in finance

Promote and support technological

advancement in finance

PLEXUS Advancement Award for Artificial Intelligence

In 2020, PLEXUS Investments sponsored its “Advancement Award for Artificial Intelligence in the Financial Sector” for the first time. The award comes with prize money of 10,000 Euros, which the winner(s) can use for future research into artificial intelligence (AI) and machine learning in the financial sector.

The award ceremony for the first Advancement Award took place on 31 March 2021 as part of the digital conference “Artificial Intelligence in the Financial Sector”, hosted by PLEXUS. More than 200 guests from the international asset management community attended. (The conditions of participation for the next award ceremony in May 2022 can be found below.)

The Winners

Two applicants won the Award: Benjamin Moritz, Executive Partner at HQ Asset Management in Dusseldorf, and Riccardo Tegazi, Quant Analyst at Bank of America Merrill Lynch in London. You can find their theses under the photos.

Dr. Benjamin Moritz

Dissertation: Applications of Textual Analysis and Machine Learning in Asset Pricing

Riccardo Tegazi

Master Thesis: Machine Learning in International Asset Pricing

PLEXUS AI Conference

In addition to the winners, international AI fund managers and an expert from the industrial sector attended the conference (in English) to share their knowledge with the international community.

Here you can find a trailer of the conference:

Play Video

If you would like to watch the whole conference from 31 March 2021, please use this link and authenticate yourself with your email address.

PLEXUS Advancement Award for Artificial Intelligence in 2022

The high quality of the submissions we received has encouraged us to continue with the advancement award. The transformation of the financial sector through AI and machine learning is in full swing. We are proud to support new developments in this area through our advancement award. The call for submissions continues to be directed at students and doctoral candidates.

The submission deadline for interested parties is 31 December 2022, 23:59h. Eligible candidates are students with their master’s thesis (in exceptional cases: their bachelor’s thesis) and doctoral candidates with their dissertation. In both cases, the candidates must have successfully submitted their work to a university or university of applied sciences to obtain their respective academic degree.

Panel of Judges

Christof Kutscher

Chairman of the Board of Directors at Bergos AG (Zurich), Executive Chairman Climate Asset Management (London), and formerly Chairman of the Board at AXA Investment Managers, Paris.

Prof. Walter Farkas

Professor of Quantitative Finance with the Department of Banking and Finance at the University of Zurich, and Associate Member of the Department of Mathematics at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (ETH Zurich).

Prof. Stefan Mittnik

Professor of Financial Econometrics, until 2020 at the Ludwig Maximilian University Munich (LMU) and co-founder of Scalable Capital, a digital financial service provider.

PLEXUS Investments

Connected through trust.